2017 Naledi Theatre Awards: Winners Announced.

sarafina awards

The 2017 Naledi Theatre Awards took place on Monday at The Lyric Theatre, Gold Reef City where the winners were announced to a full house of theatre lovers.

The Naledi Theatre Awards is hailed as the South African ‘Oscars’, and on Monday evening theatre practitioners from across the country were recognized for their artistic excellence and contribution to the South African theatre landscape for productions staged during 2016.

Here is the full list of winners:

  1. Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: Ameera Patel.
  2. Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: Tiaan Slabbert.
  3. Best Production for Children: KhoKho’s Treasure.
  4. Best Production for Young Audiences: Just Antigone.
  5. Best Performance in a Children’s Theatre Production: Jovan Muthray for “Just Antigone”
  6. Best Newcomer | Breakthrough: Daniel Richards for “Pay Back the Curry”
  7. Best Costume Design: Greg King and Shanti Naidoo for “Shrek the Musical”
  8. Best Set Design: Greg King for “Suddenly the Storm”
  9. Best Lighting Design: shared by Wesley France for “Suddenly the Storm” and Hlomohang Mothetho for “TAU”
  10. Best Sound Design Design: Mark Malherbe for “Annie”
  11. Best Score/Arrangement: Dawid Boverhoff for “Altyd in My Drome”
  12. Best Musical Director: Bryan Schimmel for “Annie”
  13. Best Production | Cutting Edge: “AS”
  14. Best Ensemble: “TAU”
  15. Best Original Choreography: “TAU”
  16. Best Director of a Musical: Neels Clasen for “Altyd in My Drome”
  17. Best Director of a Play: Jade Bowers for “Scorched”
  18. Best Female Support/Featured Performance: Tarryn-Lee Hudson for “Singing in the Rain”
  19. Best Male Support/Featured Performance: Rory Booth for “Shrek the Musical”
  20. Best Female Performance in a Musical: Charon Williams Ros
  21. Best Male Performance in a Musical: Grant Almirall
  22. Best Male Lead Performance in a Play: Desmond Dube “I See You”
  23. Best Female Lead Performance in a Play: Ilse Klink “Scorched”

The Spirit of Courage Award went to Erik Holm for his enduring spirit and passion for the arts.

The Executive Director’s Award went to the talented ladies of POP Art, Hayleigh Evans and Orly Shapiro.

Haccious Mokopakgosi was applauded with The Naledi Lifetime Achievement Award for his 50+ years as a stage manager.

Suddenly the Storm won Best New SA Script.

I See You received the coveted Best Production of a Play.

Annie received the award for Best Production of a Musical.

The World Impact Award went to South African icon Johnny Clegg.

For more information on the winners and event: Naledi Theatre Awards Facebook Page


Main image: Channel24

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

To Top