Mr South Africa 2016: Meet the Top 23!

mr sa

Introducing South Africa’s Top 23 ‘Men of Honour”.

On Monday, 8th August, the finest men in the country were selected to be part of the Top 23 finalists for Mr South Africa 2016.

This selection was made possible through the most recent 30 Day Random Act of Kindness Challenge which encouraged the guys to be more ‘giving’ in the attempt to make a difference in the lives of others regardless of how big or small. The contestants shared their daily gestures on social media using  #randomactofkindness and have gained favorable support from the general public.

Unlike your popular beauty pageants, Mr South Africa aligns itself on finding a representative man and it is said that this years ‘men of honour’ are striving towards being a ‘model male’ rather than a male model.

The contestants have been engaging with various challenges each month that test their candidacy through learning elements, skills development and planning as well as charity work within their community. All of this, in conjunction with SMS votes have led to this point, the Mr South Africa Top 23.

The Mr South Africa organization is managed by Rudi Baker, Zelda Kraftt and Wikus Otto. The team provides support to the finalists throughout their journey while still maintaining the brands overall objective which is to find the perfect aspirational man; balanced in health, intelligence, passion, drive, ambition, attractiveness. A leader, to inspire and motivate. To act as a role model for boys and men to aspire to and ultimately to make a difference towards a better South Africa.

The competition has been running since 1982 and some of our entrants include: Michael Moll (after winning became the Top Billing presenter), Marcus Muller (after winning became an actor on Egoli), Dieter Voigt (after winning became the presenter of Pasella), Zino Ventura, ( C.I.G.A.R.E.), Stephen Segal (became the presenter of Life’s a Journey), and current Mr South Africa, Armand du Plessis.

At the end of September, the Top 12 will be announced. Members of the public are urged to vote for their favourite contestant by texting their  unique code to 47439 (R3/sms).

To follow the Mr South Africa journey as it leads towards the finale, log onto www.mrsa.co.za

Like the Mr SA page on Facebook @Mr South Africa. Or to be more connected with  your favourite contestant, you can find them using the #MRSA2016 on social media.


Habib Noorbhai

Heinrich Grabbler

Qhamani Mavela

Brendt De Wet

Godfrey Mphatswe

Pieter Delport

Diaan Neethling

Mawande Qeqe

JP Robberts

Iwan Buchler

Buntu Majaja

Gerjo Oosthuizen

Derrick Dos Santos

Stallone Santino

Sakhile Hlongwane

Christo De Ridder

Nicholas Mashiane

Ashley Eddy

Henry Masuku

Louise Pieterse

Marcell Pieterse

Sibonelo Zungu

Innocent Stock

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

To Top