Mr South Africa Top 12 Announced!

Mr South Africa 2017: Top 12 Finalists

Johannesburg- Mr South Africa Organization reveals Top 12 finalists.

The finest men in the country have been selected to form part of the Top 12 in the Mr South Africa 2017 Competition.

This selection was made possible through various challenges throughout the year which set the contestants apart and gained them a spot in the finals. The contestants shared some of their journey in the competition with the public using the hashtags #randomactofkindness and #mrsa2017.

Unlike traditional beauty pageants, Mr South Africa aligns itself on finding a representative man for South Africa that goes beyond chiseled abs. This years ‘men of honour’ are striving towards being a ‘model male’ rather than a male model.

The contestants have been engaging with various challenges each month that has tested their candidacy through learning elements, skills development and planning as well as charity work within their community. All of this, in conjunction with SMS votes have led to this point, the Mr South Africa 2017 Top 12.

The Mr South Africa organization provides support to the finalists throughout their journey while still maintaining the brands overall objective which is to find the perfect aspirational man; balanced in health, intelligence, passion, drive, ambition and attractiveness. The role of the organization is to search for a man that can act as a role model for boys and men, ultimately making a difference towards a better South Africa.

Meet the Top 12 (in no particular order):

Abrie Marais

Derick Truter

Heinrich Gabler

Gordon Stevens

Jaco van der Merwe

Jacob Bronkhorst

Rudolf Dante de Villiers

Raven Nel

Muneer Holloway

Morgan Jacobs

Keenan Francis

Zolisa Nomandla

The competition has been running since 1982 and some of popular faces within the competition include: Michael Mol (after winning became the Top Billing presenter), Marcus Muller (after winning became an actor on Egoli), Dieter Voigt (after winning became the presenter of Pasella), Zino Ventura, ( C.I.G.A.R.E.), Stephen Segal (became the presenter of Life’s a Journey), Armand du Plessis (Represented South Africa for Mr World), and the current Mr South Africa Dr Habib Noorbhai (Heart).

Members of the public are urged to vote for their favorite contestant by texting their unique code to 47439 (R3/sms).

To follow the Mr South Africa journey as it leads towards the finale, log onto

Like the Mr SA page on Facebook @Mr South Africa. Or to follow your favourite contestant, you can find them using the #MRSA2017 on social media.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Remember these Mr South Africa winners from the past? – exclusivelynews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest News

To Top